Thanksgiving prayers will be offered today: Asad Umar

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Asad Umar said the prayers to thank Allah Almighty will be offered today.
Talking to media while on way to the Supreme Court of Pakistan, Asad Umar said it will be day of justice and masses.

Panama Case Verdict

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court of Pakistan has announced that it will announce the much-awaited verdict in the Panama Papers case today (Friday).

According to details, the decision in the Prime Minister’s disqualification case will be announced by the Supreme Court this morning at 11:30 am.

The decision will be announced by the five-member larger bench of the apex court. Justice Asif Saeed Khosa, Justice Gulzar Ahmad, Justice Ijaz Afzal, Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed and Ijaz-ul-Ahsan are part of the bench.

The three member implementation bench of the apex court had reserved the decision on July 21.


11:27am: The court room, from which the verdict is to be announced, is packed to capacity.

11:25am: The hearing of all cases, scheduled for today, have been adjourned.

11:24am: Pushing and shoving reported outside the premises of the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

11:20am: Political leaders of different political parties arrived at the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

Timeline: Panama Papers case

April 3, 2016 - Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and his family came under spotlight after the Panama Papers (11.5 million secret documents) were released by the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists which revealed a sensational tax heaven leak.

April 5, 2016 — Prime Minister Sharif addressed the nation and announced to set up a judicial probe to investigate the money trail of offshore firms owned by his family.

April 22, 2016 — In a second televised address to the nation, PM Sharif said he will resign and go home if proven guilty by the Panama Papers probe.

September 30, 2016, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) demands PM’s resignation. Thousands of PTI supporters staged a sit-in at Raiwand and called for PM Sharif’s resignation.

Panama case: PM in or out, SC decides today

panama case
ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court will today (Friday) announce its verdict in the Panama case related to the allegations against the Sharif family for their alleged money laundering and establishing properties abroad and the people of the country will know whether Nawaz Sharif will remain the prime minister of Pakistan or not.

According to the cause list issued on Thursday, a five-member larger bench of the apex court, headed by Justice Asif Saeed Khan Khosa and including Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan, Justice Gulzar Ahmed, Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed and Justice Ijazul Ahsen, will announce the judgment at 11:30am.

A three-member special implementation bench on the Panama verdict, headed by Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan and comprising Justice Azmat Saeed and Justice Ijazul Ahsen on July 21, had reserved the judgment with the ruling to look into the matter of disqualification of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, saying that fundamental rights of both the petitioners and respondents would be fully protected.

Maryam Nawaz accused of submitting false documents to JIT

ISLAMABAD: The Panamagate joint investigation team (JIT) has accused Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s daughter, Maryam Nawaz, of submitting fake documents. 
According to the JIT report, she and her brothers Hussain and Hassan Nawaz, as well as her husband retired Captain Mohammad Safdar, had signed falsified documents to mislead the Supreme Court.
“The trust declaration documents, presented by Ms Maryam Safdar to the JIT as well as the photocopies of these documents submitted in the Honourable Supreme Court of Pakistan are fake and fabricated documents,” the JIT stated.

Meanwhile, Maryam on Monday rejected the JIT report.

PTI & PPP ask PM to step down

After unveiling of the JIT’s report, both the two major opposition parties – PTI and PPP – on Monday demanded that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif must immediately resign, with the PTI chief Imran Khan also calling for putting names of the PM and his family members on the no-fly list.
“This is game, set and match. Now, it is a matter of time to see when they will leave the PM House. I will say [names of] entire [Sharif] family needs to be put on the Exit Control List,” Imran told a press conference shortly after the Supreme Court made the JIT report public.
Jang Group served notice by top court over controversial story
Flanked by senior party leadership, Imran congratulated the nation: “Now, the PTI does not need a street movement; rather the party will soon have to hold street celebrations.”
Before holding the press talk, the PTI chief chaired a consultative meeting attended by senior party leaders. In the meeting, the PTI’s legal team briefed the participants on the JIT report.

JIT recommends filing of reference against PM Nawaz, daughter and sons with NAB

ISLAMABAD: The Joint Investigation Team (JIT) , constituted by the Supreme Court, submitted its report on Monday recommending that a reference be filed with the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) against Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and his family after disparities were found between their known source of income and the family’s actual wealth.
The JIT recommends filing of the reference under Section 9 of NAB Ordinance 1999 against Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, daughter Maryam Nawaz and sons Hasan and Hussain Nawaz.
"Significant gap/disparity among the known and declared sources of income and the wealth accumulated by the Respondent No. 1, 6, 7 and 8 have been observed," said the investigation team in its closing remarks.
In the report, Respondent 1 refers to Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Respondent 6 refers to Maryam Nawaz, Respondent 7 refers to Hussain Nawaz and Respondent 8 to Hasan Nawaz.
“The financial structure and health of the companies in Pakistan having linkages to the Respondents also do not substantiate the wealth of Respondents,” added the document.  
"Moreover, irregular movement of huge amounts in shape of loans and gifts from Kingdom of Saudi Arabia-based company (Hill Metals Establishment), United Kingdom based companies (Flagship Investments Limited and others) and United Arab Emirates based Company (Capital FZE) to Respondent No. 1, Respondent No. 7 and Pakistan based companies of Respondent No. 1 and family have been highlighted."

All set for local bodies elections in Punjab

Punjab and Sindh are all set for the first phase of the Local Bodies elections in 12 districts of Punjab and 8 districts of Sindh tomorrow (Saturday).

Public holiday has been announced in the concerned districts of Punjab, the district administration announced after the directions of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Featured Slider